MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held at RIBA, London - Friday 2 December 2016

The Minutes of the last AGM held at the Royal College of Surgeons, London on Friday 20 November 2015 were agreed as a correct record of events.

1 President's Report

The President welcomed everyone and hoped they had received the Annual Report for 2016 which had been mailed to the membership and contained the details of the activities of the British Division during the year. The President handed over the chain of office to the President Elect, Professor Mary Leader who will hold the position for two years. The new President Elect was announced as Professor Ray McMahon and he will take on the role in two years time.

2 General Secretary's Report

The Secretary's Report had already been circulated but he further added that a new membership category had been added, that of Foundation Membership and asked the members for their approval to this additional category. This was duly agreed.

3 International Subcommittee

Professor Berney commented on his circulated report saying it had been a very active year and thanked all those who had gone as Speakers to our Schools in Bosnia, Sri Lanka and the Arab Division. He commented on the completion of the LabSkills programme and explained that it had been put forward for the Times Higher Education Award and had in fact won this prestigious prize.

4 Finance Subcommittee

The annual Accounts had been circulated in advance and the Treasurer commented on our reasonable financial health in the present climate. Educational activities of the Division were sustained due to the continued success of the journal. The Treasurer added that Elizabeth Whelan had retired from Wileys and he thanked her for her support of the British Division over the past 30 years.

5 Meetings Subcommittee

The Meetings Secretary said that the joint meeting with the Pathological Society of GB and Ireland held in Nottingham this summer had been successful though it was down 10% on the previous meeting in Dublin. The next meeting would in Belfast in June 2017. He explained that these joint meetings were complex to arrange and so it was advisable to have someone to shadow him for a year before taking on the role. It was suggested that Dr Lisa Browning was the most suitable candidate to do this and would then be ready to take over from him when he retired. This called for a change to the Constitution which was agreed.

6 Education and IT Subcommittee

Claire Murray said she welcomed the opportunity to rebrand the website and slides of the new layout were shown and explained. The Divisional Editor asked members to encourage their students to apply for the many bursaries, grants etc. that were funded and available for study purposes in pathology. The Editor asked for contributions to the Newsletter plus any comments on content/articles to help with future format.

7 Nominations and Membership Subcommittee

Thanks were given to Professor Marco Novelli, Dr Fionualla O'Connell and Dr Pieter Demetter for their contribution to the Council over the last three years and new Council members were welcomed. They are Dr Ann Sandison - London, Dr Nicky d'Haene - Belgium and Professor Kieran Sheahan- Ireland who will join the BDIAP Council from 2017. Thanks was given to Professor Michael Wells for his contribution over many years. With regard to the BDIAP medals, it was announced that the Cunningham Medal be awarded to Professor Ray McMahon and the President's medal to Professor Peter Isaacson.

8 Report from the Editor of Histopathology

The Report from the Editor was given by Professor Berney who commented that it continued to do well and noted his thanks to Elizabeth Whelan as well.

The meeting was concluded and the Presidency handed to Professor Mary Leader from Dublin.